cheesy and satisfying.  get creative with the toppings (:

cheesy and satisfying. get creative with the toppings (:

For 4th of July I wanted to make grilled pizza.  Since I don’t have a grill, I turned on my oven to the highest temp (500°F) and made delicious, thin crust pizza.

The dough recipe is online here.  Instead of using just all purpose flour, I used a combination of whole wheat pastry flour, all purpose and semolina flour.  The food processor method worked well.  I let the dough rise for 30 minutes to develop flavor and texture.

Topping possibilities are endless.  For this type of pizza, make sure the toppings are not too thick otherwise the crust won’t cook.  Also, if you want to put meat on the pizza like chicken or pork, cook the meat beforehand.  The pizza is in the oven for a short period of time, so raw meat will not fully cook.

Toppings I used:

my half of the pizza: homemade pesto, salami, mozzarella

my other half’s half of the pizza: marinara sauce, basil (put it under the cheese so it doesn’t burn), sun-dried tomato, feta cheese, mozzarella cheese

Process:

Preheat your oven the the max temperature (think about how hot those wood burning pizza ovens get).  Punch down the risen dough.  Lightly flour a work surface.  Roll out the pizza dough with a rolling pin into a rectangle.  You can also make circular mini pizzas.  Dust a cookie sheet with cornmeal, this keeps the dough from sticking.  Place the dough on the sheet.  Spread toppings thinly on top of the dough.  Place in oven. Cooking time will vary depending on the temperature of your oven.  I think mine took about 7 minutes, but keep a close eye on it because the pizza can quickly go from perfect to burnt.