moist, tasty and interesting

moist, tasty and interesting

 

 

I am starting to toy with using less processed ingredients for baking .  This is difficult, however, because ever since I was little I religiously baked with unbleached white flour, processed cane sugar, and hefty amounts of butter.  101 Cookbooks is helping to change my mind about healthier baking.  

Heidi Swanson’s recipe for a no sugar carrot cake caught my eye.  I love carrot cake.  I bought organic carrots and organic cultured cream cheese (yum) at Berkeley Bowl.  Emre helped me chop the dates, grate the carrots and mash the bananas (thanks ♥).  The cake turned out moist and not sweet like you would normally expect carrot cake to be.  When I frosted it with the agave sweetened cream cheese the cake was delicious.  I think it is a better breakfast cake than a dessert cake.  

My friend Kathleen introduced me to agave syrup.  It is a natural liquid sweetener that is supposed to be better for you than processed sugar.  Does anyone know the real story on agave?  Regardless of its health benefits, it made the cream cheese into an easy, tasty frosting.

