This week I have so many things to share.  I will start with the food.

Straus Family Creamery donates milk to Culinary Kids events.  There was some Straus whole milk leftover from the Susan Waters event so I was the lucky recipient of one quart of organic whole milk.  I don’t use whole milk often so I needed inspiration for what to create.

 My lovely roommate Molly suggested that I make dulce de leche.  Perfect.  Dulce de leche reminds me of the month that I spent in Argentina in high school.  I lived with a family in Santa Fe, Argentina and they always had at least three different kinds of dulce de leche in the fridge.  I had never heard of the complex caramelly spread before my trip.  However, after I came back to the states I could not find the stuff and I craved it.  My home-stay sister, Lula, sent me a care package from Argentina about a month ago with a huge jar of dulce de leche inside.  I left it at home for my family to devour on top of vanilla ice cream while I was dulce de leche-less at college.

 Until now.  Ok, seriously, this is too easy to make.  So easy that I made it twice in the last 4 days. Emre loves it.  I just followed Alton Brown’s recipe and I came out with a delicious container of dulce de leche.  I did not strain it because I cook in a Emre’s fraternity kitchen.  Do you think college guys need a fine mesh sieve? No.  But the dulce de leche still turned out delicious, it never lasted more than a few hours.

so delicious that a thick cream floats on the top, almost like super fresh butter

so delicious that a thick cream floats on the top, almost like super fresh butter

 

the milk and sugar slowly caramelize to create a beautiful, rich chestnutty color

the milk and sugar slowly caramelize to create a beautiful, rich chestnutty color

i found this message from Emre in the dulce de leche, i think he liked it (:

i found this message from Emre in the dulce de leche, i think he liked it (:

Next up, a healthy, quick, tasty breakfast.

There is a grocery store in Berkeley called Berkeley Bowl.  It sells good local produce for a reasonable price, bulk grains and dried fruit, and basically anything you would need to make good food.  If you ever come to Berkeley and you like food shopping, please visit Berkeley Bowl.

That said, I bought a bundle of spring asparagus that is just as tall and green as normal asparagus but the stalks are thinner, thinner than pencils.  I also bought spring onions, which look like green onions except the onion bulb at the bottom is bigger and milder.

 I wanted to make breakfast with my new produce so I cut the tough part off the bottom of the asparagus, chopped up the spring onion (including a couple inches of the green part) and washed a handful of cherry tomatoes.  Then:

1. Heat olive oil in a skillet and saute the onions (add a little salt) until translucent.

2. Slice the asparagus in 2 inch long pieces throw them in with the onions. Add a bit of freshly cracked black pepper.

3. Toss in the whole cherry tomatoes.

4.  Crack however many eggs and egg whites you would like to eat and whisk them with some milk, salt and pepper.

5.  When the asparagus is a little tender but still crisp add the eggs and stir like you would a scramble.

6.  Stop stirring when the eggs are still runny in order to create a frittata.  Sprinkle a good amount of feta cheese on top and put the skillet into a 400 degree oven so the cheese can melt and the eggs can set.  Keep an eye on it, the length of time in the oven depends on how many eggs you used.

7.  Take your spring veggie fritatta concoction out of the oven and slide it out of the pan onto a plate.  Slice it into big wedges.  Enjoy the tender asparagus and feta combination.  Emre said it reminded him of Turkey.

 

make it your own with whatever veggies you like

make it your own with whatever veggies you like

 Alright, I have to go to work now but look out for another post soon on:  Indian high tea at Tandoor Kitchen with the Culinary Kids, Ina Garten’s apple, pear, cranberry crisp, Emre’s dinner creation and today’s rainy garden photos with tips on composting.

